Conflicts & War

Baltic nations boycott OSCE meeting over Russia’s Lavrov participation

Berlin, Nov 28 (EFE).- In protest at the possible participation of Russian diplomatic chief Sergei Lavrov, the foreign ministers of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania will boycott the 30th ministerial meeting of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, in Skopje.

“We deeply regret the decision enabling the personal participation of Russian Foreign Minister S. Lavrov at the 30th Session of the OSCE Ministerial Council in Skopje,” the statement reads.

In their view, the presence of Russia at the meeting will provide the country with an opportunity to spread its propaganda.

The joint statement justifies the boycott with Russia’s war against Ukraine and Moscow’s obstructive behavior within the Organization.

“For the past two years we have witnessed how one OSCE participating state has actively and brutally tried to annihilate another. Let us be very clear: Russia’s war of aggression and atrocities against its sovereign and peaceful neighbor Ukraine blatantly violate international law.” Baltic foreign ministers said in their statement.

The ministers of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania believe that Lavrov’s presence at the OSCE meeting “risks legitimizing aggressor Russia as a rightful member of our community of free nations, trivializing the atrocious crimes Russia has been committing.”

According to them, Russia has also obstructed the work of the multilateral organization by blocking any OSCE presence and activity in Ukraine.

It has also vetoed NATO member Estonia’s rotating chairmanship next year “for completely fabricated reasons” and is hampering the organization’s ability to function, the Baltic nations argue.

“We, the Ministers of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania, will not be part of this and will not share responsibility for the consequences it will create,” they highlighted. EFE


Related Articles

Back to top button