Chiefs’ Patrick Mahomes named NFL 2022 season MVP

Sports Desk, Feb 9 (EFE).- Patrick Mahomes, American football quarterback for the Kansas City Chiefs, was named the Most Valuable Player of the 2022 season Thursday at the National Football League Honors ceremony held at Symphony Hall in Phoenix, Arizona.

The ceremony recognized the best of the campaign in different categories and was held prior to Sunday’s Super Bowl LVII between the Philadelphia Eagles and the Kansas City Chiefs at State Farm Stadium in Glendale, in Arizona.

“I thank the Chiefs, coach Andy Reid and my teammates, I wouldn’t be here without you. Now together we all have to reach the ultimate goal, the Super Bowl. We’re going after that dream this weekend,” Patrick Mahomes said after receiving the award.

It is the second time Mahomes wins the accolade – first awarded in 1957 – having previously won it in 2018. The top winner of this award is former quarterback Peyton Manning with five, followed by Aaron Rodgers, who has four.

Mahomes joined former quarterbacks Joe Montana, Steve Young and Kurt Warner, also two-time MVPs.

The Offensive Player of the Year award went to Minnesota Vikings receiver Justin Jefferson, who made 1,809 yards, 128 passes and eight touchdown receptions.

San Francisco 49ers star defensive end Nick Bosa took home the Defensive Player of the Year award. Bosa led the NFL in quarterback sacks with 18.5, which helped make his team’s defense the league’s best.

Garrett Wilson, a 22-year-old catcher for the New York Jets, was awarded the Offensive Rookie distinction. He made 83 passes for 1,103 yards and four touchdowns.

The Defensive Rookie name went to 22-year-old Jets cornerback Sauce Gardner. On the season he had 51 tackles and two interceptions. He was the best in the league when it came to passes defended with 20.

Brian Daboll of the New York Giants won the Coach of the Year trophy. Deboll gained recognition in his first season with the Giants, a team with which he finished with a 9-7 record, qualifying them for the playoffs; with the Eagles eliminating them in the divisional round.

The list of inductees to the Hall of Fame included former players such as Joe Thomas, Zach Thomas, Joe Klecko, Ken Riley, Darrelle Revis, Demarcus Ware, Chuck Howley, Ronde Barber and former coach Don Coryell.

Damar Hamlin, a Buffalo Bills player who suffered a cardiac arrest during the game against the Bengals on Jan. 2, also made an appearance, In one of the ceremony’s most emotional moments. Joining Hamlin were doctors helping him recover at the University of Cincinnati Medical Center.

The Walter Payton award, given to the player who stands out for his relevant actions with the community and excellence on the field, was awarded to Dak Prescott, quarterback of the Dallas Cowboys. EFE


Related Articles

Back to top button