China announces sanctions on ‘Taiwanese independence diehards’

Beijing, Aug 16 (EFE).- The Taiwan Work Office of the Communist Party of China Central Committee on Tuesday announced sanctions against those it described as “Taiwan independence diehards,” the state Xinhua news agency reported.

Among those sanctioned are vice president of Taiwan’s legislature, Tsai Chi-chang, activists such as Lin Fei-fan, and other members of the ruling Democratic Progressive Party such as Bi-khim Hsiao, Wang Ting-yu and Koo Li-hsiung.

These people join a list that already includes the island’s Minister of Foreign Affairs Joseph Wu.

Those sanctioned and their close relatives will be banned from entering mainland China, Hong Kong and Macao, and their companies and organizations will not be allowed to carry out activities in mainland China for profit.

Those on the list will “be held to lifelong accountability according to law,” according to an Office spokesman quoted by Xinhua.

The Office said that “for some time, a few diehard separatist elements, out of their own interests, have gone to their lengths to collude with external forces in provocations advocating ‘Taiwan independence,'” behavior that became “more egregious” during the visit of US House Speaker Nancy Pelosi to the island earlier this month.

China responded to the trip with military exercises around the island and trade sanctions on some Taiwanese products, as well as on Pelosi and her close relatives.

Shortly after the US politician’s visit, Chinese authorities arrested a Taiwanese citizen living in the eastern Chinese city of Wenzhou for his alleged involvement in “separatist activities.”

China views Taiwan as a rebel province of the mainland and has not ruled out use of force to achieve “reunification.” EFE


Related Articles

Back to top button