Conflicts & War

EU regrets Russia’s decision to add 5 members to ‘unfriendly‘ nations

Brussels, Jul 23 (EFE).- The European Union lamented Saturday Russia’s decision to add five of its member states to the list of ‘unfriendly’ countries drawn up by Moscow.

“The European Union deplores the decision of the Russian government on 20 July 2022 to add five EU member states – Greece, Denmark, Croatia, Slovakia and Slovenia – to the list of countries for which measures in ‘Response to Unfriendly Actions of Foreign States’ are applicable,” the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs Josep Borrell said in a statement.

“The EU considers allegations regarding unfriendly actions as unfounded and unacceptable, urging Russia to revoke all such listings,” he added.

“This decision is yet another step by Russia towards continued escalation of tensions with the European Union and its member states,” the statement said, urging Moscow to halt its invasion of Ukraine.

The Russian government announced on Friday that the five countries had been added to the list of ‘unfriendly’ nations, which limits the number of people that their diplomatic representations can hire in Russia, which will be zero for Slovenia and Croatia. EFE


Related Articles

Back to top button