EU to lift non-essential travel ban from US

Brussels, Jun 16 (EFE).- The European Union is set to lift a ban on non-essential travel from the United States starting this week, according to EU sources.

The EU agreed Wednesday to end restrictions for travelers from several more countries including Albania, North Macedonia, Serbia, Lebanon and Taiwan.

It also agreed to end the reciprocity clause for travelers from Macau and Hong Kong, who were among countries that already allowed non-essential travel from the EU.

Travelers from these countries will now be able to enter the EU independently of the conditions that apply to travelers from the EU.

The EU updates its list of permitted countries every two weeks. The list already includes Austria, Israel, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea and Singapore.

Each Member State can apply its own restrictions for travelers from permitted countries that could include a negative Covid-19 test or quarantine upon arrival. EFE


Related Articles

Back to top button