European countries begin to reopen borders

Madrid Desk, Jun 13 (efe-epa).- European countries have started to officially reopen their borders before the summer.

The European Commission has recommended governments can allow travel within the free-movement area from 15 June.

Poland, Spain, Portugal and France were among the nations who have lifted restrictions or are getting ready to do so after measures were imposed to help contain the spread of the coronavirus pandemic.


Poland opened its borders with the rest of the European Union at midnight on Saturday three months after they were closed, during which time only Polish citizens or residents could enter the country.

Twinned cities located at border crossings such as Frankfurt Oder in Germany and Slubice in Poland celebrated the reopening with fireworks and music, bringing together hundreds of people at the stroke of midnight.

Dozens of residents prepared to drive across the bridge over the River Oder after waiting for months to visit relatives on either side of the border.

All restrictions on land traffic from other EU countries were lifted from Saturday and it is expected that from Monday normal air traffic will also begin.

During the pandemic only Polish citizens or long-term residents, members of the diplomatic corps and hauliers could only enter the country using a series of designated steps.

Border controls with Germany repeatedly caused traffic jams more than 60 kilometers long, especially at the crossing between Frankfurt Oder and Slubice.

Related Articles

Back to top button