Conflicts & War

European Nato nations to develop missile defense amid Russian threat

Brussels, Oct 13 (EFE).- Defense ministers from 15 Nato countries, spearheaded by Germany, agreed Thursday to develop a continental missile defense system.

The “European Sky Shield Initiative” aims to establish an air and missile defense system for European nations, a statement said.

“This commitment is even more crucial today, as we witness the ruthless and indiscriminate missile attacks by Russia in Ukraine, killing civilians and destroying critical infrastructure. In this context, I strongly welcome Germany’s leadership in launching the European Sky Shield Initiative,” Nato Deputy Secretary General Mircea Geoana said.

The shield, he added, “would significantly enhance our ability to defend the Alliance from all air and missile threats.”

The countries that signed the letter of intent include Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechia, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway, Slovakia, Slovenia, Romania, the United Kingdom and Finland.

Speaking at the end of the two-day meeting in Brussels, Nato secretary-general Jens Stoltenberg said the air defense system would boost the alliance’s deterrence capabilities.

The Norwegian politician also welcomed the United Nations General Assembly’s condemnation of Moscow’s illegal annexation of four regions in eastern and southern Ukraine, calling it “a clear and strong message that Russia is isolated and that the world stands with Ukraine.”

As part of the alliance’s support for Kyiv, Stoltenberg said Nato would soon provide Ukraine with “hundreds of drone jammers for use against Russian and Iranian drones”.

He also addressed Russia’s recent nuclear threats, calling president Vladimir Putin’s nuclear rhetoric “dangerous and irresponsible”, while warning Moscow that any use of nuclear weapons would have “severe consequences”. EFE


Related Articles

Back to top button