India confirms Ukraine will not take part in G20 Summit

New Delhi, Aug 16 (EFE).- India’s Foreign Minister Subrahmanyam Jaishankar confirmed Wednesday that Ukraine was not invited to the forthcoming G20 Summit in India on Sep. 9-10, where Russia is a permanent member.

In a meeting in New Delhi with international media in which EFE participated, the minister revealed that India has invited nine countries – Spain, Bangladesh, Nigeria, Mauritius, Egypt, the Netherlands, Oman, Singapore and United Arab Emirates – and that no one apart from them and the member states would participate in the event.

The minister recalled that Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi met on several occasions in the past with his Ukrainian counterpart, and that the two countries maintain “strong” relations in various areas.

Jaishakar said India’s decision to not invite Ukraine was made taking into consideration the that G20 stood for growth and development and not conflict resolution, which should be done at the United Nations Security Council.

The Group of 20 (G20), created in 1999, is made up of Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, South Korea, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, United Kingdom, US and the European Union.

Together they account for around 85 percent of global GDP, more than 75 percent of world trade and around two-thirds of the world’s population. EFE


Related Articles

Back to top button