Indonesia demands dialogue to end Myanmar’s post-coup crisis

Jakarta, Jul 12 (EFE).- Indonesia’s foreign minister on Wednesday urged dialogue to end the deep crisis in Myanmar unleashed by the February 2021 military coup.

“Dialogue will pave the way to political solution. Only political solution will lead to durable peace,” Retno Marsudi said during her opening remarks of the second day of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) foreign ministers’ meeting that was expected to focus on Myanmar.

Indonesia, which holds the annual rotating ASEAN chairmanship, has organized more than 110 engagements with all stakeholders over the situation, she said.

“This is a very complex exercise, and it is not easy at all. Engagements are merely means. It is high time to encourage dialogue among them,” Retno added.

ASEAN agreed on a Five Point Consensus in April 2021 between the leaders of the bloc and the head of Myanmar’s military junta, Min Aung Hlaing, which includes an end to violence against civilians and inclusive dialogue.

Since that date, little progress has been made, which has led ASEAN to ban the junta chief and his foreign minister from the bloc’s appointments.

Indonesia, which has been strong in its condemnation of Myanmar’s coup generals, advocates for increasing pressure against the junta due to massacres committed by the regime and its failure to comply with the consensus.

“Indonesia strongly condemned the use of force and violence. We strongly urge all stakeholders to denounce violence as this is paramount to build trust, and this is also paramount to deliver humanitarian assistance and for dialogue,” the minister said.

At least 3,780 people have died in the violent crackdown by Myanmar’s security forces and more than 19,400 remain in detention, according to data from the Assistance Association for Political Prisoners.

Founded in 1967, ASEAN is made up of Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam and has established a roadmap for the inclusion of East Timor.

On Thursday and Friday, the bloc’s foreign ministers will meet with their counterparts from countries such as the United States, Russia, China and the European Union. EFE


Related Articles

Back to top button