Conflicts & War

Japan adds three more banks to Ukraine war sanction list

Tokyo, June 7 (EFE).- Japan has added a Belarusian bank and two Russian banks to its sanction list and banned certain exports to Moscow as part of its punitive measures over the Russian invasion of Ukraine, the Japanese foreign ministry said Tuesday.

The ministry said the decision to seize the assets of Moscow Credit Bank, Agricultural Bank of Russia, and Belarusian Bank for Development and Reconstruction would contribute “to international peace efforts in Ukraine.”

However, the government did not specify the exports to Russia it banned as part of the latest round of sanctions.

The government only said it froze the goods that strengthened the industrial infrastructure of Russia.

Top government spokesperson Hirokazu Matsuno told reporters that it was necessary to assist Ukraine and take strong measures against Russia to seek the path of dialog.

Matsuno said the Japanese government would take further action against Russia based on the development of the situation in Ukraine.

The new sanction list comes nearly a month after the Japanese government froze the assets of 141 people, including Russian Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin, and banned exports to 71 Russian companies.

Japan stopped exporting semiconductors and microchip components to Russia in its previous rounds of sanctions, saying the Russian military industry was using the devices.

Among other products, it also halted sales of luxury cars to Russia. EFE


Related Articles

Back to top button