Kazakhstan proposes inclusion of non-regional countries in IAEA’s governing body

Astana, Aug 28 (EFE).- Kazakhstan is to suggest at the upcoming General Conference of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) that countries not affiliated with specific regions be represented in its Board of Governors.

Aibek Smadiyarov, spokesperson for Kazakh diplomacy, said Monday that Kazakhstan had identified a total of 17 countries not part of the IAEA’s regional groups, thus they are “in fact deprived of the right to be elected to the governing bodies.”

He added that among the states unable to access the Board of Governors are Kazakhstan and the other four former Soviet republics of Central Asia – Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan – along with Israel, Cambodia, Nepal, Brunei, and eight other countries, all of them IAEA members.

Smadiyarov explained that Kazakhstan’s initiative involves presenting a consensus resolution project to find a mechanism that addresses this situation, especially considering Kazakhstan is the world’s largest uranium producer, accounting for over 40% of global production.

“We already have the support of the ‘nuclear quintet’,” the diplomat said, hinting that the project would have the backing of China, the United States, Russia, France, and the United Kingdom.

The 67th IAEA General Conference will be held from September 25 to 29 at the Vienna International Centre. EFE



Related Articles

Back to top button