Lewis Hamilton wins Spanish Grand Prix

Montmeló, Spain, May 9 (EFE).- The defending world champion Lewis Hamilton won the Spanish Grand Prix on Sunday for the fifth consecutive year.

The Mercedes driver made history by starting in pole for the 100th time in his career.

Max Verstappen took an early lead at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya in Montmeló but his Red Bull was unable to fend off Hamilton, who returned to P1 in lap 60 of 66.

Hamilton’s Mercedes teammate Valtteri Bottas finished in P3 to make it the third Verstappen sandwich of the season so far.

“It was a really great strategy by the team. What a day,” Hamilton told F1 media after the race. He has won the Spanish Grand Prix six times in all.

Verstappen acknowledged there was little he could do to keep the lead away from Hamilton, who this year is gunning for a record-breaking eight world championships.

“I tried everything I could,” he said after the race.

Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc started and finished in P4, followed by Red Bull’s Sergio Pérez, who managed to claw back from P8 to P5.

McLaren’s Daniel Ricciardo crossed the line in sixth place followed by Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz, who was racing on home turf.

Lando Norris bagged P8 in his McLaren with Alpine’s Esteban Ocon and AlphaTauri’s Pierre Gasly completing the top 10.

Related Articles

Back to top button