Maddison, Rashford make WC squad to join Kane in Qatar

London, Nov 10 (EFE).- James Maddison, Conor Gallagher and Callum Wilson are among the new England faces included in Gareth Southgate’s squad for the Fifa World Cup in Qatar, which was revealed Thursday.

The England manager decided to lean on eight attacking players: Bukayo Saka, star striker Harry Kane, Raheem Sterling, Phil Foden, Marcus Rashford, Jack Grealish and Wilson. Roma’s Tammy Abraham and Brentford’s Ivan Toney missed out.

In the midfield, Southgate opted for Kalvin Phillips, who has yet to make an appearance for Manchester City this year through injury, as well as Chelsea’s Gallager and Leicester City playmaker Maddison.

They will join Mason Mount, Jordan Henderson, Declan Rice and Borussia Dortmund star Jude Bellingham.

With Ben Chilwell and Reece James both out injured, the defensive line will be made up of Trent Alexander-Arnold, Kieran Trippier, Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw, Ben White, Conor Coady, John Stones, Kyle Walker and Eric Dier.

Goalkeepers Jordan Pickford, Nick Pope and Aaron Ramsdale will join the Three Lions in Qatar.

England’s Qatar campaign kicks off on November 21 with a Group B tie against the Islamic Republic of Iran. Their fellow group members are Wales and the United States. EFE


Related Articles

Back to top button