New Zealand calls on Xi to use influence with Russia, North Korea

Bangkok, Nov 19 (EFE).- New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern asked Chinese President Xi Jinping on Saturday to use his influence to help solve crises such as the Russian invasion of Ukraine or North Korea’s missile launch threats.

Ardern and Xi met Friday night in Bangkok shortly after North Korea launched an intercontinental ballistic missile as 21 Asia-Pacific Economic Forum (APEC) economies held a summit in the Thai capital.

After the meeting with Xi, the president said in statements to the New Zealand press that China is not at the center of these issues as a “protagonist.”

“What we see, however, is that China is a nation of influence. And in a situation where we ask everyone to use whatever resources they can to bring peace and stability to end the conflict, we will call on all those we believe who have influence to bring peace and stability,” the prime minister said.

Following the North Korean missile launch, the United States held an emergency meeting in Bangkok with partners including Japan, South Korea, Australia, Canada and New Zealand.

The ballistic test of the missile, which landed in the Sea of ​​Japan, adds to the 30 projectiles, a record number, that North Korea fired in early November in response to joint aerial military maneuvers by Seoul and Washington.

The tension on the peninsula is reaching unprecedented levels due to the repeated North Korean weapons tests, the maneuvers of the allies and the possibility that, as indicated by satellites, the Kim Jong-un regime is already ready to carry out its first test. nuclear since 2017.

New Zealand also hopes that China can use its influence to de-escalate the war in Ukraine, following the Russian invasion last February.

The APEC forum is a meeting focused on trade and the economy, but Ardern recalled that security and peace are economic issues because they affect issues such as inflation and food and energy security.

Founded in 1989, APEC is made up of Australia, Brunei, Canada, China, Chile, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, the Philippines, Russia, South Korea, the United States, and the United States. Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam. EFE


Related Articles

Back to top button