Conflicts & War

Putin signs law to restrict visas for citizens of ‘unfriendly’ nations

Moscow, Apr 4 (EFE).- President Vladimir Putin on Monday signed a decree to restrict the issuance of visas to citizens of European countries Moscow deems “unfriendly” due to sanctions leveled in response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

The latest measures will also affect diplomats and journalists traveling to Russia, the Kremlin said.

The new regimen applies to citizens of the European Union, Norway, Switzerland, Iceland and Liechtenstein replaces a previous policy that simplified the visa process for some nations.

Under the new rules, Moscow will scrap the issuance of multiple-entry one year visas for journalists as well as multiple-entry five year visas for government and political officials.

Foreign diplomats from so-called unfriendly countries will not be able to enter Russia without a visa.

The EU approved an initial package of fresh sanctions against Russia on February 23 when Putin decided to recognize the independence of the breakaway, pro-Russian territories in Ukraine’s Donbas region. Those sanctions were strengthened following Russia’s full-scale invasion of Ukraine.

EU leaders on Monday said they would consider ramping up the sanctions further after reports of possible war crimes committed by Russia’s invading forces in Ukraine, which include the summary execution of civilians, rape and looting. EFE


Related Articles

Back to top button