Russia resumes flights with 8 countries after halt during pandemic

Moscow, Jun 28 (EFE).- Russia resumed international flights to and from eight countries starting Monday, months after air routes were slammed shut to curb the spread of the coronavirus.

Local authorities agreed to allow flights with the United States, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland, Italy, Jordan and North Macedonia.

Flights between Moscow and Brussels will run four times a week, while Moscow to Washington and New York will be twice a week, according to the operational headquarters for the fight against coronavirus.

Number of regular flights to Austria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Greece, Croatia, Qatar, Finland and Switzerland will increase, as air traffic with these countries had been resumed previously.

Russia suspended international travel in March 2020 to curtail the virus outbreak and began to gradually allow flights to resume later in the same year.

Air routes have been reopened with about 50 countries so far.


Related Articles

Back to top button