Singapore allows quarantine-free travel from more countries

Bangkok, Oct 19 (EFE).- Singapore, one of the largest transportation hubs in Asia, Tuesday expanded the list of countries, from where fully vaccinated travelers would not need to quarantine in the city-state.

The government took the measure to reopen its borders and revive its economy.

Singapore, which has fewer coronavirus deaths, will also exclude travelers from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Denmark, France, Italy, the Netherlands, and Spain from the mandatory quarantine.

In September, travelers from Brunei and Germany were already exempted from quarantine in the small, prosperous nation,.

But there are several exceptions for travel to and from neighboring Malaysia.

Singapore will also add South Korea to the list from Nov.15 and is considering launching travel bubbles with Hong Kong, delayed twice, and Australia.

“Singapore cannot stay locked down and closed off indefinitely,” Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said earlier this month, while announcing the expansion of quarantine-free travel from other countries.

With 80 percent of the target population fully vaccinated, the authorities are looking to resume the opening of the important financial center where the regional headquarters of thousands of multinationals are located.

Since the start of the pandemic, Singapore has recorded more than 151,000 Covid-19 cases, including 239 deaths.

The highest number of new infections (2,809) were reported on Oct. 10. EFE


Related Articles

Back to top button