Spain extends border closure to non-EU, Schengen countries

Madrid, Mar 29 (efe-epa).- Spain has extended a temporary ban on non-essential travel from countries outside the European Union and the Schengen area until 30 April due to the coronavirus, according to a statement in the official BOE state bulletin on Monday.

The temporary restriction on entering by land from Gibraltar, a British overseas territory bordering southern Spain, will be lifted as of 30 March.

The order is in line with the European Council recommendation issued on 30 June on temporary limitations of non-essential trips to the bloc, which sets out the countries whose citizens are exempt from the travel restrictions to the EU and categories of people to whom the limitations do not apply regardless of their place of origin.

Residents in Spain or other EU countries from those exempt countries, students, healthcare workers, transport personnel or people traveling for personal reasons, among others, are allowed to travel.

On Saturday, Spain introduced mandatory negative coronavirus tests within the last 72 hours for travelers entering the country by road or train from France. EFE-EPA


Related Articles

Back to top button