Conflicts & War

Spain joins growing list of EU countries to expel Russian diplomats

Madrid, Apr 5 (EFE).- Spain expelled 25 diplomats and other staff from the Russian embassy in Madrid on Tuesday, as Russia’s isolation from the international community over its brutal invasion of Ukraine intensified.

The 25 Russians were told to leave the country as they represent “a threat to the security” of Spain.

The ministry of foreign affairs was finalizing the list of those being expelled, minister José Manuel Albares told a press conference, adding that there “perhaps could be a few more.”

Spain’s move follows similar actions taken by Lithuania, which expelled the Russian ambassador on Monday, and France and Germany, who have told numerous Russian diplomats to leave as their presence undermines national “security interests”.

Denmark, Sweden and Italy all made similar announcements Tuesday to expel alleged Russian spies from their territories in the wake of Moscow’s war in Ukraine and as evidence of apparent war crimes committed in areas occupied by Russian forces emerged.

Russia vowed to respond in kind to the wave of expulsions of its diplomats from European Union countries.

“Corresponding measures will be taken,” foreign ministry spokeswoman Maria Zakharova told reporters on Tuesday. EFE


Related Articles

Back to top button