US bans Huawei, ZTE products over national security concerns

Washington, Nov 25 (EFE).- The United States Friday said it banned the sale and import of telecom and surveillance devices from Chinese brands, including Huawei and ZTE because they “pose an unacceptable risk to national security.”

The Federal Communications Commission said it “adopted new rules prohibiting communications equipment” manufactured by Huawei, ZTE, Hytera, Hangzhou Hikvision, and Dahua Technology and their subsidiaries and affiliates.

“The FCC is committed to protecting our national security by ensuring that untrustworthy communications equipment is not authorized for use within our borders, and we are continuing that work here,” said Jessica Rosenworcel, the chairperson of the industry regulator.

“These new rules are an important part of our ongoing actions to protect the American people from national security threats involving telecommunications.”

FCC Commissioner Brendan Carr said the “unanimous decision represents the first time…that we have voted to prohibit the authorization of communications and electronic equipment based on national security considerations.”

The new rules revoke existing authorizations.

President Joe Biden signed the Secure Equipment Act in November 2021.

The act required the FCC to establish rules stating that it would no longer review or approve any authorization application for equipment on the list of covered communications equipment or services that pose “an unacceptable risk to national security or the security and safety of US persons.”

The restrictions on Chinese technology gained momentum during Republican President Donald Trump’s term.

The Trump administration began a trade war with China in 2018 amid a growing clamor for reducing commerce ties with Beijing.

The US has sanctioned Huawei over its alleged links with Chinese intelligence.

Washington blacklisted the Chinese telecom in 2019, which led Huawei to lose access to US-developed components and technologies like the Android operating system.

Australia, New Zealand, Japan, the United Kingdom, and Sweden have banned the use of Huawei equipment in the IT systems of their government services over security concerns.

Others, like France, have favored European providers such as Ericsson and Nokia. EFE


Related Articles

Back to top button