Verstappen wins Abu Dhabi GP, last of F1 season

Sports Desk, Dec 13 (efe-epa).- The Netherlands’ Max Verstappen (Red Bull) won the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, the last of the Formula One World Championship season, at the Yas Marina circuit on Sunday.

Twenty-three year-old Verstappen logged his second race win of the year and his tenth in his F1 career.

He won ahead of Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) of Finland — who finished in second place in the championship — and this season’s champion Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes).

Spanish Carlos Sainz finished sixth, just behind his English teammate Lando Norris, confirming the third final place of McLaren in the constructors’ world championship.

McLaren snatched third place from the team of Mexican Sergio Perez, who retired on the tenth of 55 laps when his Racing Point engine failed.

The other Red Bull, that of Thailand’s Alexander Albon, was fourth, ahead of the two McLarens and Australian Daniel Ricciardo, who finished seventh in his last race with Renault, in which he logged the fastest lap.

The French Pierre Gasly (Alpha Tauri) and Esteban Ocon (Renault) were eighth and ninth; and the last point at stake for tenth place was taken by the Canadian Lance Stroll (Racing Point).

That point did not prevent McLaren from taking third place in the constructors’ championship, once again captained by Sainz, who, in his last race with the Woking team — the talented Madrid native will be driving with Ferrari next year — repeated the sixth place he achieved in the World Cup in 2019.

Hamilton won his seventh world title with a total of 347 points, 124 more than Bottas and with a 133 advantage over Verstappen; in a contest that the Mexican ‘Checo’ Perez, despite his retirement this Sunday, finished fourth.

Mercedes, which had already celebrated its seventh title followed by constructors five races ago, won this championship with 573 points, 254 more than Red Bull. McLaren was third, with 202. EFE-EPA

Related Articles

Back to top button