Germany restricts arrivals from Portugal and Russia over Delta variant

Berlin, Jun 26 (EFE).- The German government included Portugal and Russia in its list of high-risk countries with Covid-19 variants spreading, and will ban most arrivals from those countries starting Tuesday, over concerns about the contagious Delta strain.

Portugal is the only European Union member state penned onto the list of variant-ridden countries, which took a great deal of deliberation due to the expected negative effects on tourism, according to German authorities.

Only those holding German nationality or a residence permit will be allowed to enter the country from Portugal and Russia, and will be subject to mandatory two-week quarantine independently of completed vaccination or negative test results.

Portugal’s 14 days infection rate Saturday was 137.5 for every 100,000 residents, the highest in the EU according to the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control. EFE


Related Articles

Back to top button