Conflicts & War

New Zealand imposes sanctions on 18 Russian banks and financial institutions

Sydney, Australia, Apr 19 (EFE).- New Zealand announced Tuesday the imposition of fresh sanctions on 18 Russian banks and financial institutions as part of the international response to Moscow’s invasion of Ukraine.

“These major institutions make up approximately 80% of Russia’s total banking assets,” New Zealand Foreign Minister Nanaia Mahuta said.

The measures affect three Russian government financial institutions, and 15 banks, including those linked to oligarchs, the military and those responsible for the annexation of Crimea, according the official statement.

The list includes the Central Bank of the Russian Federation, the Black Sea Bank for Development and Reconstruction, the Credit Bank of Moscow, Gazprombank, the Russian Direct Investment Fund, the Russia Agricultural Bank, the Sberbank, and the Industrial Savings Bank, among others.

New Zealand already has sanctions against 460 people and entities from Russia, including President Vladimir Putin, following a new law in March that enabled the country to impose such targeted measures.

The country will also impose 35 percent tariffs on all imports from Russia from Apr.25 and extend the ban on exports of industrial products to that country.

Last week, the New Zealand government also announced the deployment in Europe of a Hercules C-130 aircraft, 50 soldiers and eight military experts in logistics to work on sending and distributing military aid to Ukraine.

New Zealand, which has already provided funds of NZ$ 30 million ($20.5 million), previously offered military intelligence assistance and the shipment of non-lethal material.

The government at Wellington, which supports the call for an investigation of alleged war crimes by Russia, has also provided humanitarian assistance and a temporary shelter program for the families of Ukrainians living in the country. EFE


Related Articles

Back to top button