Labour takes Tory strongholds of Westminster, Wandsworth

London, May 6 (EFE).- Britain’s main opposition Labour Party has dealt a heavy blow to Prime Minister Boris Johnson’s conservatives in London by winning the Tory strongholds of Westminster and Wandsworth.

Local elections were held in England, Wales, and Scotland, and assembly polls in Northern Ireland on Thursday.

While the first results for Wales and Scotland and Northern Ireland are yet to be announced, the Keir Starmer-led Labour Party has made significant gains in the traditionally Conservative councils in England.

Among the most symbolic wins were in Westminster which was in the hands of the Conservatives since its creation in 1964 and Wandsworth in the south of the British capital run by the Tories since 1978.

Wandsworth was considered former British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher’s favorite council and renowned for its low taxes.

Analysts say the two major Labour victories reflected Johnson’s decline in popularity following a scandal over parties in Downing Street during the pandemic and growing voter concern over rising living costs and very high fuel prices.

London Mayor Sadiq Khan told the media Friday that “history” had been made with the Labour win in Wandsworth.

The Labour Party also won control of another Conservative stronghold, Barnet in northwest London, with a large Jewish population.

In previous elections, when the Labour Party was led by Jeremy Corbyn, the borough had voted for the Conservative in protest against anti-Semitism scandals surrounding the party.

In these elections, 4,360 seats were up for grabs on 146 councils in England – out of 333, all of Scotland’s 32 councils and 22 in Wales.

After counting votes at 75 of the 146 councils at stake in England, Labour had won control of 37, two more than they previously had, and had 1,189 councilors, an addition of 38.

The Conservatives control 18 councils – a loss of six -and have 535 councilors – 124 less.

The Liberal Democrats control four councils – gaining one – and have 257 councilors – 57 more.

Every seat of London’s 32 borough councils was up for grabs, but there were no elections to elect the city mayor, currently Labour’s Sadiq Khan.


Related Articles

Back to top button